Home City Council Departments Services Calendar Contact Us Search
Building frame
Police Department

 

San Ramon LogoBuilding and Safety Services

Vance Phillips - Chief Building Official

2401 Crow Canyon Rd, San Ramon, CA  94583 Map
Phone: (925) 973-2580
Fax : (925) 838-2821
Email: Building@sanramon.ca.gov

Building and Safety Services promotes health and safety in the construction and maintenance of buildings and structures, and the maintenance of property through enforcement of uniform building codes, conservation standards, regulations, and ordinances.

THE BUILDING DIVISION IS RESPONSIBLE FOR

  • Monitoring and inspection of projects in all phases of construction performed by residents and contractors.
  • Review and issuance of building permits for construction of buildings, alterations, and accessory structures. This work includes all work not within the public right-of-way.
  • Code Enforcement:  The division is charged with the enforcement of the City of San Ramon Municipal and Zoning Ordinances

STAFF CONTACTS

Staff:   Title E-mail Voice
Vance Phillips Chief Building Official vphillips@sanramon.ca.gov 973-2583
Tai Akiwumi Plans Examiner aakiwumi@sanramon.ca.gov 973-2591
Carl Mattioda Senior Building Inspector cmattioda@sanramon.ca.gov 973-2587
Clifton Hayden Building Inspector chayden@sanramon.ca.gov 973-2588
Mike Elliott Neighborhood Preservation Officer melliott@sanramon.ca.gov 973-2589
Phil Wisotsky Neighborhood Preservation Officer (T) pwisotsky@sanramon.ca.gov 973-2590
Teresa Noble Permit Specialist tnoble@sanramon.ca.gov 973-2592

HOURS AND DIRECTIONS

Office Hours are:
Monday to Friday - 8:30 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
Permitting Hours are:
Monday to Friday - 8:30 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.

Inspector’s Counter Hours (by telephone): 925- 973-2580, Select Option 1 (Inspector)
Combination Building Inspectors: Monday to Friday– 7:30 A.M. to 8:00 A.M.

Code Enforcement Officers: Monday, Tuesday Wednesday and Friday – 8:00 A.M. to 8:30 A.M.; Thursday’s 9:00 A.M. to 9:30 A.M.

Directions: Take Crow Canyon exit - West. Left on Creekside Dr. Permit Center is the gray building on the left. Building Division is located on the 2nd floor.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

When is a Building, Electrical, Mechanical or Plumbing Permit required for a single family dwelling?

It is easier to answer when a permit is not required. Read the California Code Permit Exemptions Page to see when a Building, Electrical, Mechanical or Plumbing permit is not required.

When is special inspection required?

Special Inspection is required by Chapter 17 of the 2013 California Building Code.

 

 

We provide efficient delivery of quality public services that are essential to those who live and work in San Ramon.
2401 Crow Canyon Rd, San Ramon, CA 94583 |
Map | Phone (925) 973-2580