Home City Council Departments Services Calendar Contact Us Search
San Ramon Valley Blvd and Bollinger Canyon Rd
Public Services Department


San Ramon Logo Regional Transportation Planning Solutions


The City realizes that regional traffic issues often must be addressed with regional solutions and cooperation with our neighbors. San Ramon is an active participant in regional transportation planning efforts. The following are brief summaries of the regional transportation planning programs that the City of San Ramon currently participates in:

Tri-Valley Transportation Council (TVTC)

The Tri-Valley Transportation Council (TVTC) includes the Cities of San Ramon, Dublin, Pleasanton, Livermore, the Town of Danville, and Alameda and Contra Costa Counties. Founded in 1991, the TVTC completed the Tri-Valley Transportation Plan/Action Plan for Routes of Regional Significance in 1995. The Plan establishes shared traffic service objectives and presents a list of eleven (11) high-priority transportation improvement projects to ease regional traffic congestion.

  1. I-580/I-680 Interchange "Direct Connector" Ramps
  2. Alcosta Boulevard/I-680 Interchange Improvements
  3. I-680 Auxiliary Lanes from Bollinger Canyon Road to Diablo Road
  4. State Route 84 I-580 to I-680 Expressway
  5. West Dublin BART Station
  6. I-580 High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) Lanes
  7. I-680 High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) Lanes (Sunol)
  8. I-580 Foothill Road Interchange
  9. Crow Canyon Road Improvements (Alameda County)
  10. Vasco Road Safety Improvements
  11. Express Bus Service Livermore Amador Valley Transit Authority (LAVTA)

The Tri-Valley Transportation Development Fee on new developments will fund the improvements. This fee, which was adopted by the seven TVTC jurisdictions in 1998, and amended in May 2003, applies to all developments in the Tri-Valley. A fee of $2,313 per new singly family residential dwelling unit, a fee of $1,472 per new multifamily dwelling unite, and a fee of $4.15 per square foot of office space is applied and collected by all of the TVTC jurisdictions.*

*The fee is adjusted each year based on the construction cost index

Dougherty Valley Oversight Committee - Southern Contra Costa Joint Exercise of Powers Agreement (SCCJEPA)

Contra Costa County’s approval of the Dougherty Valley Specific Plan in 1991 triggered a legal response from several area Cities and non-governmental organizations. Through extensive negotiations and mutual efforts, the legal challenge of the County’s approval was resolved through a comprehensive Settlement Agreement between the City of San Ramon and Town of Danville and Contra Costa County. This legal Settlement Agreement was to spawn two powerful regional transportation planning forums; the Dougherty Valley Oversight Committee (DVOC) and the Southern Contra Costa Joint Exercise of Powers Agreement (SCCJEPA) regional fee program.

San Ramon, Danville, and Contra Costa County adopted the SCCJEPA in 1995. It establishes a list of transportation projects aimed at providing sufficient traffic capacity to accommodate traffic from the Dougherty Valley development as well as from other projects in San Ramon and Danville. The SCCJEPA also establishes a common fee to be applied to all developments in the three jurisdictions, with the revenues earmarked for specific roadway improvements in each jurisdiction. Over the term of the SCCJEPA, the fee program will generate approximately $35 million, with $30 million of the total being directed to San Ramon.

Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA) - Southwest Area Transportation Planning Committee (SWAT)

With the passage of Measure C in 1998, Contra Costa voters approved a ½ cent sales tax to fund transportation improvements in Contra Costa County. In addition to the sales tax, Measure C includes a far-reaching Growth Management Program (GMP) component, which requires that local jurisdictions consider regional transportation conditions when planning for developments. The Measure C GMP requires that important public services be maintained, and that traffic level-of-service standards are met as a condition of receiving Measure C funds. Compliance with these Growth Management standards is evaluated bi-annually by the Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA). San Ramon has met its CCTA Growth Management requirements every year since the program’s inception. The City’s annual "return-to-source" funds from this program are about $550,000 which is used for roadway maintenance and improvements.

Measure C also established four regional transportation-planning committees to provide a forum for regional transportation issues. San Ramon is in the Southwest Area Transportation Committee (SWAT), along with the Towns of Danville and Moraga, the Cities of Lafayette, Orinda, and Contra Costa County. SWAT is comprised of elected officials, appointed by each respective agency and staff members from each jurisdiction.

The current Measure C expires in 2009. In 2003, the CCTA embarked on a major effort to renew the ½ cent sales tax. In November 2004, the voters of Contra Costa County approved the extension of Measure C. Now known as Measure J, the renewal, which goes into effect July 2009, will extend the sales tax for an additional 25 years and generate $2 billion dollars for transportation projects and programs.

For more information on the City’s Regional Transportation Planning efforts, contact Lisa Bobadilla, Transportation Manager at (925) 973-2651, or email: lbobadilla@sanramon.ca.gov



We provide efficient delivery of quality public services that are essential to those who live and work in San Ramon.
2401 Crow Canyon Road, San Ramon, CA 94583 | Map | Phone (925) 973-2650 | Fax (925) 938-3231